TwinTurbo.NET: Nissan 300ZX forum - Thanks for the wishes
People Seeking Info

Subject Thanks for the wishes

Posted by flashstar on June 26, 2015 at 2:59 AM
  This message has been viewed 407 times.

In Reply To Your funny.... posted by Greg D. (Specialty-Z) on June 25, 2015 at 09:21 PM

Message I have 8 years of experience with over a dozen engines. I've tuned a few and worked on the VG30 extensively (but not tuned it yet). I've also built a handful.

I calculated different DCRs for VTC on and off situations. Please re-read my previous post. VTC is great, but it's basic compared with many VTEC systems and more modern VVT.

Sure, the VG30DE/TT is more sophisticated than an old domestic motor. It isn't nearly as sophisticated as a last generation Audi engine though. Z32 electronics are a piece of cake compared with CANBUS coding for example. At their heart, 4 stroke engines all function similarly with the same 4 cycles. 1910's board track racers could hit 150mph with their 4 strokers.

We can learn a good deal from other engines. Have you ever wondered why Nissan didn't use a VIAS on the VG30DE plenum? The 3000gt used one of these systems on its 24 valve NA motor with great results.

To the OP- I would be careful when selecting a camshaft. If you go too big, you may be leaving power on the table (just as you may if you go too small).

"Too Little, Too Late